SSL Certificate

View our feature stories below:

2017 Student Awards & Accomplishments
Posted 03/16/2017 11:37AM

2017 Science Fair Winners

See the full list of awards here: On February 27, Mount Saint Joseph held its annual Science Fair. Twenty-eight judges evaluated the sixty-nine projects in four categories. Luke Isayiw won first prize in Life Sciences for his project "Cooking with E.Coli." Xavier Cha received first place in Environmental Science for his project "Disappearing Shells." In Physical Science A, Matthew Ritmiller won for his project "Blades of Glory." The Grand Prize winner was Martin Blurton-Jones who was awarded the event's top honor for his project "The Accuracy of the Robotic Hand" in Physical Science B. All of the participants are taking Honors Chemistry with Mr. Ader and Ms. Czyryca. Ms. Thank you t to Ms. Allison White, chairperson of the Science Department, & the director of the Science Fair for hosting this event every year. Congrats Gaels!

Wrestling Champs

Coach Harry Barnabae and the wrestling Gaels added another title as they captured the Maryland State Team Championship. Led by trio of state champions, Connor Strong (113), Shawn Orem (132), and Neil Schuster (152), Mount Saint Joseph won by a stunning 38.5 points, 309.5-271, over second place McDonogh. To add to this amazing accomplishment all fourteen MSJ wrestlers placed in the top six which qualifies the entire team for the National Prep tournament at Lehigh University. Go Gaels! 

#GaelsGiveBack 27/7

Everette Jackson '17:

A special shout out to Everette Jackson '17 for his newly found passion for service work tutoring at Sarah M. Roach Elementary. "My time spent with the children is something I look forward to and is usually one of the highlights every week. They're full of energy and their active and fun-loving attitudes are very contagious." Everette is now the Chair of the Sarah M. Roach Working Group and a part of the Executive Council of NHS. The program has grown significantly with a dedicated group of 10 to 15 tutors. Everette is just one of many students at the Mount who has taken an idea and turned the idea into a positive change for our community! #GaelsGiveBack

Rick Hart '18: 

Congratulations to sophomore Roderick (Rick) Hart III on his Youth Community Service Award for outstanding community service efforts in Montgomery County, Maryland. This award was presented by the Alpha Phi Alpha, Inc. President of the chapter, Steve Ruffin, and members, Mr. Leon Burns and Mr. Robert E. Hatchel, nominated Rick for this special award.

Rick was excited to attend the 4th annual Martin Luther King Memorial Breakfast event where he received the award and shook hands with: Senator Chris Van Hollen, Congressmen Jamie Raskin, former Congresswoman Connie Morella, Montgomery County Executive Ike Leggett, and Prince George's County Executive Rushern Baker who were in attendance that night. "I was honored to receive the award for exemplary service in my community. It was a great experience that I will never forget

powered by finalsite